ASHFIELD DISTRICT COUNCIL



Council Offices, Urban Road, Kirkby in Ashfield Nottingham NG17 8DA

Agenda

Annual Council

Date: Thursday, 16th May, 2019

Time: **7.00 pm**

Venue: Council Chamber, Council Offices, Urban Road,

Kirkby-in-Ashfield

For any further information please contact:

Lynn Cain

I.cain@ashfield.gov.uk

01623 457317

COUNCIL

Membership

Chairman: Former Councillor Glenys Maxwell

Vice-Chairman: Councillor Tony Brewer

Councillors:

John Baird Chris Baron Kier Barsby Jim Blagden

Ciaran Brown Christian Chapman Samantha Deakin Melanie Darrington Dale Grounds Andy Gascoyne Arnie Hankin **Andrew Harding** David Hennigan Tom Hollis Rachel Madden Trevor Locke Sarah Jayne Madigan **David Martin** Andy Meakin Lauren Mitchell Keir Morrison Warren Nuttall Matthew Relf Kevin Rostance Phil Rostance Dave Shaw Helen-Ann Smith John Smallridge

David Walters Lee Waters

Caroline Wilkinson Daniel Williamson John Wilmott Jason Zadrozny

FILMING/AUDIO RECORDING NOTICE

This meeting may be subject to filming or audio recording. If you have any queries regarding this, please contact Members' Services on 01623 457317.

SUMMONS

You are hereby requested to attend a meeting of the Council to be held at the time/place and on the date mentioned above for the purpose of transacting the business set out below.

R. Mitchell Chief Executive AGENDA Page

- 1. To receive apologies for absence, if any.
- 2. Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary or Personal Interests and Non Disclosable Pecuniary/Other Interests.
- 3. To elect the Chairman for the ensuing year.
- 4. The newly elected Chairman to make the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.
- 5. Vote of thanks to the retiring Chairman and her response.
- 6. To elect the Vice Chairman for the ensuing year.
- 7. The newly elected Vice Chairman to make the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.
- 8. To receive and approve as a correct record the minutes of the 5 26 meetings of the Council held on 13th February and 14th March, 2019.
- 9. To receive any announcements from the Chairman or Head of Paid Service.
- 10. To elect the Leader of the Council for a term of four years in accordance with Council Procedure Rule 1.1(vii).
- 11. In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 1.1(viii) and (ix), to be told by the Leader of the composition of the Executive for the coming year and the names of Members appointed to the Cabinet and the Scheme of Delegation for the Discharge of Executive Functions.

(Scheme of Delegation to be circulated at the meeting – gray papers)

12.	In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 1.3(i) to (iv), to determine the appointment of Committees, Panels and Working Groups etc. for the ensuing year with Terms of Reference as set out in Part 3, 1.8 of the Constitution.	27 - 30
	Accordingly, the Council is requested to appoint the following Committees, Panels and Working Groups (including appointment of Chairmen, Vice Chairmen and membership seats):-	
	Overview and Scrutiny Committee Scrutiny Panel A Scrutiny Panel B Planning Committee Licensing Committee Audit Committee Local Joint Consultative Committee Chief Officers' Employment Committee Standards and Personnel Appeals Committee Charities Committee Local Plan Working Group (Schedule of committee memberships to be circulated at the meeting – blue papers)	
13.	In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 1.1(x), to approve a programme of ordinary meetings of the Council for the ensuing year.	31 - 36
14.	Annual Constitution Review.	37 - 44
15.	Aldermen and Alderwomen Policy.	45 - 54
16.	In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 1.3(v), to approve appointments to outside bodies for the ensuing year. (Schedule of appointments to outside bodies to be circulated at the meeting – pink papers)	55 - 60